Monday, December 26, 2022

World Cup of Men's Hockey in 2023: Detailed Format Guide

Men's Hockey World Cup 2023: Complete format guide

 Delhi, India: On January 13, 2023, India will host the Men's Hockey World Cup for the fourth time, marking the tournament's 15th anniversary.

Two Odisha cities will co-host the tournament from January 13 to 29. Rourkela, where the matches will be played at the brand-new Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium, will join the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar from last year.

NUMBER OF MATCHES AND TEAMAGE There will be 44 games between the two venues featuring the 16 best teams in the world.

Belgium, the world's No. 1, will compete alongside India, the host nation and Olympic bronze medalist from Tokyo. 1: Germany, the Netherlands, Australia, New Zealand, Argentinia, England, Spain, South Korea, Malaysia, South Africa, France, Japan, Chile, and Wales are the other countries in this group.

The pool-stage matches will be split between the two scenes Rourkela and Bhubaneswar, trailed by the hybrid matches to be played at Bhubaneswar alone.

Rourkela will host the quarterfinals, semifinals, bronze medal match, and final, while Bhubaneswar will serve as host. These matches will determine who will finish in positions 9 through 16.

The four pools have been created for the 16 teams.

The winner of the pool will advance to the quarterfinals, where it will play once against each of the other three teams. The crossover matches that will determine the remaining four quarterfinalists will be played between the teams ranked second and third in each pool.

THE SPACES Pool A: Pool B: Argentina, France, South Africa, and Australia Germany, Belgium, Korea, and Japan are in Pool C. Malaysia, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Chile, and Pool D: India, Ridges, Spain, Britain

The two elimination rounds will be played on January 27 and the last on January 29.

Catch Daily Highlights In Your Email

* indicates required

Post Top Ad