Wednesday, October 18, 2023

Jharkhand wins to start the campaign

 KOLKATA: Jharkhand started their mission in Syed Mushtaq Ali Prize in style as they procured an outright exhilarating four-wicket win against Puducherry in their Gathering D opener in Mohali on Tuesday night.

Pursuing 189 to win, they didn't have an extraordinary beginning as both the openers attempted to get things moving. While Vivek Kumar left for five, Saurabh Tiwary couldn't free his hands and could make only 18 off 26 balls with one four.

Be that as it may, the appearance of Vikash Vishal (27 off 15 balls) and afterward Virat Singh (27 off 20 balls) made something happen for Jharkhand as the two of them got into the demonstration rapidly. Tragically, neither of them could remain long and Jharkhand were diminished to 100 for 5 in the thirteenth over.

With 89 required off 42 balls, at that point a Jharkhand win appeared to be very impossible. Yet, Anukul Roy (43 off 21 balls) had different plans as he held hands with Pankaj Kumar (35 not out off 20 balls) and dismantled the Puducherry bowling.

The team scored 64 off only 29 balls as Jharkhand hustled towards triumph. Together they hit four fours and five sixes as Puducherry saw the game gradually get away. Yet again however with 25 required off 15, Roy was run out and Puducherry were ready to take care of business.

To Jharkhand's joy, Supriyo Chakraborty, who came to the center after Roy's takeoff, hit two immense sixes in the nineteenth over off Sagar Udeshi to settle the nerves in the Jharkhand changing area. After that Jharkhand required only three off the last finished and they had no issue getting it.

Prior, KB Arun Karthick (66 not out), Akash Kargave (61) and Parameeshwaran S (37) assisted Puducherry with setting up an impressive all out as Jharkhand bowlers neglected to inconvenience them. Rahul Shukla was the pick of them with figures of 3 for 34.

Brief scores: Puducherry 188/4 out of 20 overs (KB Arun Karthick 66 n.o., A Kargave 61, Parameeshwaran S 37; R Shukla 3/34). Jharkhand 189/6 in 19.3 overs (A Roy 43, P Kumar 35n.o.; F Ahmed 2/29). Jharkhand won by 4 wickets

Catch Daily Highlights In Your Email

* indicates required

Post Top Ad